Spiritual Cataracts


Most of us are suffering from vision problems.  Not the physical kind – the spiritual kind.  We have spiritual cataracts.  In fact, it’s our physical eyesight that is the problem.  Because we rely so much on what we can see, we doubt the reality of what’s invisible.

We say things like, “I’ll believe it when I see it.”  That’s what made Doubting Thomas doubt.  He wanted to confirm the spiritual with his physical eyes.  “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands…I will not believe it.”  Graciously, Jesus granted his demands, but not without a gentle scolding.  “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet believed.”  Ouch.

Jesus was telling Thomas, it’s better to have faith.  Faith comes without proof; it comes without assurances.  If there are proofs and assurances, it’s not really faith, is it?  Hebrews 11:1 tells us:

 “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

Faith is really a different kind of sight.  It’s the kind of sight that sees the spiritual.  I wish I had more of it.  I wish I could flip it on like Elisha did for his servant when they were surrounded by the Arameans (who it turns out were surrounded by the armies of God – 2 Kings 6).  I wish I had it like Daniel, who saw angels on several occasions.

If I could see the spiritual, I would sin less.  We sin when we think no one is looking.  But if we could pull back the spiritual curtain, we would be ashamed in front of our audience of angels and demons – not to mention Christ Himself.

If I could see the spiritual, I would waste less time.  I would have a full realization of how precious my every moment on earth is.  I would recognize how few hours the lost have before their time is up. 

If I could see the spiritual, I would fight the good fight harder.  I would see the spiritual warfare around us every day and recognize how important my prayers and obedience were for winning battles in the heavenly realms.

If…If…If…  The truth is, I can see the spiritual.  It’s my sin that causes my cataracts.  Choosing obedience and spending time in God’s Word clears the vision.  My cataracts are just a report card on my relationship with God.  As I spend more time with Him, He will clear my vision.  He will clear yours, too.

2 Comments

Filed under Spirituality

2 responses to “Spiritual Cataracts

  1. Carrie Howell

    Mike-

    I wanted to share with you how much I am enjoying both of your websites. It is almost like spending time with you. Son #1 just told me yesterday how much wisdom he feels you have and even though we only see each other a few times a year how much he is going to miss you guys. I dont say it enough but we love you guys and also find you to have alot of wisdom. We will miss you tremendously but are so excited for the journey that lies ahead for your family!

    Carrie

  2. Thanks, Carrie. I don’t do goodbyes wells, so don’t start this early. I need to work up to these things. Give my love (our love) to the family. We miss you guys, too.

Leave a Reply

