Flickering Candle


He will not crush the weakest reed or put out a flickering candle.
He will bring justice to all who have been wronged.
(Isaiah 42:3 NLT)

Thank goodness!  I spend most of my time flickering and bending in the winds of my circumstances.  I’m a poor witness to the faithfulness and trustworthiness of God.  I put my faith in my money, my knowledge and my own efforts long before I turn to God for help.

My inconstancy is partially due to wrongs done to me at different stages of my life, but most of it is simply fear, selfishness and bad choices on my part.

Still, Jesus won’t crush me or put out my flame.  His patience and His love know no end, and He sees the potential me even though it is a long way off.  He is willing to wait for me to stand up straight against trial and shine brightly in the face of the storms of life.

He can afford to wait because His purposes are sure, and His sovereignty is complete.  I am confident of this, “that He who began a good work in (me) will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 1:6 NIV)

Leave a comment

Filed under agape love, christianity, God's Will, grace, justice, mercy, mistakes, Persistence, sanctification, Spirituality, unconditional love

Leave a Reply

